Happy Mother’s Day!

You all work so hard, and I appreciate you! Ok, moving on because… We’ve got things to do.

I decided to start this blog because I am an information gatherer and sharer. And sometimes, I come up with some good stuff! Often, this info is shared with friends, family, and co-workers. So, just in case they need to reference any of my helpful hints, they can come here.🙃 And maybe in the process, someone else out there will find valuable information as well.

Today was a keep busy day for me. Two months ago, I lost my Mom. One month ago, I lost my little pug, Stella. I miss the simple things with my mom not being here – like sending her a picture of my new haircut, telling her how much I love her, on Mother’s Day… or seeking comfort when I lost the best friend I ever had, and SO many other things. As for Stella, she was my life and a soul mate, enough said.

I still have with me my other pug, Brie. So, will continue to make natural dog treats and home remedies for my baby! You can look forward to future posts on this.😀 Here is a picture of my girls.❤️ Stelly is the little one on the right.

Ok, now on to the good stuff! It’s Sunday and I’m on a budget (vet bills galore), so I decided to do some cooking ahead. This eliminates the desire to eat out when I’m tired – which is great for the waistline and the wallet.

First, I made sesame noodles, by the Pioneer Woman. These are fantastic! A big batch can be made to be eaten throughout the week. You can enjoy them hot or cold. Add some shrimp or chicken. Or if you want to go veggie, add some cucumbers and shredded carrots, or even a little peanut butter. Yum! I use this recipe with a few adjustments for a healthier version. Sesame is the only oil used (no canola) and instead of chili oil, I use chili paste, and honey instead of white sugar. This dish is an absolute staple.

I will definitely include lots of photos in future posts!

Next, I made 20 falafel balls to freeze and use when I need them. If you are unfamiliar with this Mediterranean delight, they are meatball-sized and consist of ground chickpeas, parsley, lemon juice, garlic, etc. Lots of protein and a great alternative to meat! I eat these on a salad or in a wrap or pita – usally accompanied with some feta cheese, tomatoes, onion and homemade vinaigrette. Mmmmm, feta…. P.s. if you are running short on time (or energy), you can always use a mix and add some extra lemon juice and parsley to “jooj it up a bit”! (Omg, that was SO my mom right there.)

For breakfasts, I whipped out a few glass bowls and filled them with oats. That’s right folks, we’re talking overnight oats, here. Easy, fast, delicious, one dish, economical, and healthy. Whaaaat? Yes, it’s true. This time I made three: a peanut butter/bananaalmond joy and my own recipe with dried berries, vanilla extract, pecans, and honey. Then, I just throw them in the fridge and add my coconut milk (any kind of milk can be used) the night before. These can be eaten cold or heated up on the stove or in the microwave.

Tomorrow I will make avocado cucumber egg salad for lunches and some braised cranberry beans to freeze for lots of different dishes. Cranberry beans are an Italian legume and these were soaked all day today. I’ve never used them before, but LOVE cannellini beans and understand these can be used similarly. Will let you know!

Ok, I think that’s enough for this first post. I hope you found something here you can use. See ya next time!

